Random, sleepy thoughts
2003-04-17, 11:05 p.m.

So I'm sitting here listening to Ruben Studdard, the next American Idol, sing "Kiss and Say Goodbye" and a thought just struck me. Why is it that we can all love and adore a big, overweight black man but if the guy was white we'd say he needs to lose weight? I know there are fat, white men who are celebrities, but you'd be hard-pressed to find a woman who wants to hug and cuddle Jim Belushi like we want to hug and cuddle Ruben. For some reason, I associate overweight white men with beer and wife-beaters while I think of a fat, black man as a big ol' teddy bear. This isn't meant to be racist, but is it in the coloring?

There's definitely a difference between the races in terms of body image. A black woman can be celebrated for having the ghetto booty, but a white woman with a great figure and the same ass is called a fatass. I have that ghetto ass and I know it. But if J. Lo can work it, why can't I? (Well, I guess it helps if you look like her). I find my ass if much more appreciated by the black man. It is no lie that my ass gets grabbed almost everytime I go out, but most of the time its by a black man. Is there something genetic that makes them more appreciative of an ass?

Hmm, I just reread that and I think I've confused myself. This is what happens when you haven't slept more than 2 hours in a 60 hour period.

I used to be able to pull that off in college. Its amazing what a difference 2 years and a 9-5 makes.

Anyway, I think I'll attempt that sleep thing now. Though its escaped me for the past two nights and I've discovered that nothing pisses me off more than staring at the ceiling when I'm desperate for the release sleep brings from making my brain function.

I really hope I have something better to do tomorrow night than sit at this computer. And if you know me, you know what that something better I want to do is.

last - next


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
image
design