Raise your hand if you need a vacation
2003-11-09, 10:05 p.m.

Is it time for an extended vacation from the bullshit yet? I know that I desperately need one. I don�t even care about going away (although that would be great if someone would like to fund it), I just want a break from going to work, being broke, fighting with my parents and having the same painfully, predictable life day in and day out. I want to lay in bed til noon everyday, not get dressed until absolutely necessary, eat whatever I want, and just be generally lazy. Too bad it�s not going to happen anytime soon.

As of the 21st, Conor and I have been an item for 6 months. On one hand, it seems like it�s been much longer while on the other hand, I can�t believe it has been this long. I honestly didn�t think we�d last a month. Since the weird phone call a few weeks ago, our relationship has been nearly perfect. I won�t say perfect because that�s waaaay too scary.

Halloween was the most fun I�ve had since college. We went as Bonnie and Clyde and had the best costumes there by far. My grandmother let me borrow this gorgeous vintage dress and matching hat. I�ve always wanted to wear one of those hats with the netting that pulls down over your face and now that fantasy is fulfilled. Oh and I blew $90 at Nordstrom�s on the perfect shoes to match the costume. Never mind that I might never wear them again, they were a must-have for one night. Shoes DO make the outfit and I couldn�t be upstaged by Conor looking sexy in his three-piece suit with complementary tommy gun. We went to a party with a bunch of high school friends who I hadn�t seen in years. I expected to beg Conor to leave after we�d been there an hour, but surprisingly, I had a great time and enjoyed reminiscing with most of the people there. That 3rd martini might have helped. Plus, an old crush told me that I looked sexy and that gave my confidence a boost. Yes, I�m really that vain. But I must have looked somewhat hot considering that Conor had my skirt around my waist before the door was shut. I�m sure you can guess what happened next. I�m not sure what our relationship would be without the sex, but passion is good, right?

I�m really looking forward to next weekend though. Conor and I are going to a bed and breakfast for the weekend. I�ve already been hunting for a present for him. Well actually, I bought something for myself that I know he�ll enjoy. Yes, I�ve been shopping at Victoria�s Secret. I�m shooting for slutty, but sexy. Hopefully, the walls won�t be too thin and the bed won�t creak because I�d like to show my face downstairs the next morning.

On the flip side of Conor and I hitting 6 months, my brother and his girlfriend of 3 years broke up last weekend. You�d think after dating that long, she�d have the courtesy to dump him in person, but she did it over the phone in one sentence. Then she refused to speak to him for a week, except through text messaging. Personally, I think that is cowardly. Yes, it�s hard, but suck it up and grow a pair. My brother is devastated and it breaks my heart. For all the fighting and arguing he and I do, it still makes me furious when someone else hurts him. He�s my brother, we�re supposed to shout nasty things at each other, but no one else has that right. Her excuse is that she needs some space. Heard that before and it�s always bullshit. Space. The universal copout.

Truthfully, I don�t think that taking a break is a bad idea because they�re way too serious for 20 year olds. However, seeing my brother in tears makes me irate. I can�t image how he feels. I�ve never had a relationship last that long. Six months is almost the equivalent of 3 years with my track record. For my brother�s sake, I hope he smartens up and realizes that she doesn�t treat him very well. Their relationship is all give on his part and mostly take on her part. I want him to move past depressed and get angry with her, but right now he�s just pining and big sister wants to hire a hitman.

I�m definitely ready to crash now. It�s been a long weekend. My mom and I had the brilliant idea to hold a yard sale. Newsflash! Way too much work for very little cash. Conor and I spent Friday night folding clothes and setting up tables and then, I got up at the asscrack of dawn to sell things for 25 cents. Luckily for me, I had to babysit all day after that and had the great pleasure of going to see Brother Bear. Horrible. Disney is getting desperate. The story was weak, the music was worse and I wanted to leave in the first 20 minutes. Phil Collins wrote the music. I don�t know if I�ve mentioned this before, but I HATE Phil Collins. His music is my number one pet peeve. It makes me want to pierce my own eardrums. I don�t know why he bothers to open his mouth since he sings through his nostrils. Anyway, 2 thumbs down for Brother Bear, but Conor felt sorry for me and cooked me a lovely dinner of Ragu Express. Nothing fancy for me and my guy. I then promptly fell asleep on his lap at 7:30 on Saturday night. Wow, I am a party girl. For all the excitement in my life, I might as well be married with children.

last - next


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
image
design