?
2003-09-09, 11:19 p.m.

I hope whatever ungodly urge just possessed me to run on the treadmill for 45 minutes at 10 p.m. never comes back. My knees will undoubtedly curse me all day tomorrow.

My weekends are falling in a rut. I don't know if that's a consequence of living in a small town or having a boyfriend or possibly both. Our schedule is down to a science. Either Friday or Saturday night, we go out to a local bar, have a few drinks and then go home and have sex. The night that we don't go out, we sit in his living room and watch a movie and then have sex. Sundays are usually spent laying around in bed together and well, you can probably guess what else we do. I won't pretend to complain about the sex, but I could use some more excitement when I'm perpendicular to the ground rather than parallel.

I made a rather shocking and sad discovery on Sunday. One of my high school musical directors is in the later stages of AIDS. I wasn't as close to David as I was to his partner, Scott, but I know him rather well. I always wondered if he had HIV because he was sick often and I knew he was an older gay man, who had several homosexual relationships before AIDS and safe sex became buzzwords. I honestly can't say I was all that shocked to find out, but I'm extremely sorry to hear it. David and his partner, Scott, are wonderful people who give so much back to their community. It's just one of those things that shouldn't happen to anyone, but especially not a sweetheart like David.

David is the first person I've known who has AIDS (or was aware of it). Most of my life I've been conscious of the dangers of unprotected sex and I've never put my own health at risk that way, but the message is really driven home when someone you care about is sick. I just pray for them both to be strong and for a cure to come out of the woodwork.

Well, I'm depressed now. I think I'll console myself in my new 320 thread count, Egyptian cotton red sheets.

last - next


navigation
current
archives
profile

extras
links
rings

contact
email
gbook
notes

credit
host
image
design